The NLO Storybook

The NLO Storybook series revitalizes an almost forgotten genre: high-quality, strikingly witty, and truly captivating children’s literature. In this series, spellbinding adventures and wondrous shape-shifting characters become unexpected occasions for serious reflection on the nature of goodness, love and hate, and friendship and betrayal. In place of the externally imposed ideology of the Soviet era, contemporary children’s literature carries its own unique metaphors and distinctive language of childhood. The NLO Storybook aims to acquaint young readers with the very best fairytales from Russia’s contemporary authors of children’s literature.
Sergey Makarov

The Fairy Ko and Company

Leonid Yakhnin

The Unseen Bird

Petr Aleshkovsky

Rudl and Burdl